Statement of Intentions

Media Studies Foundation Portfolio

For my Media Studies Foundation Portfolio I am going to create a 2 minute opening sequence to a crime/thriller film entitled Bahraini Psycho.

I am interested in the horror genre as it is my favourite film genre and I am familiar with both current and classic examples. I am also interested in the way that horror can be a very postmodern genre and increasingly directors are merging other genre with horror to create new hybrids. Another appeal is that horror can be achieved on a relatively low budget and without expensive or time-consuming special effects. Mood and atmosphere can be easily demonstrated with low-key lighting, an effective choice of a simple setting and some well-chosen diegetic and non-diegetic sound. I am also considering using black-and-white filters to add to atmosphere

I will be targeting a predominantly male demographic, aged between 16 and 25 at the C1/C2/D/E range of social class. This will allow me to focus my product on quite a wide demographic who traditionally have an interest in the genre. I will ensure that I use genre signifiers that communicate crime/thriller to this target audience. These might include the use of jump scares, mise-en-scene, grey, dark setting which seems to be quite isolated and music appropriate to genre and audience such as alternative or orchestral.

My inspiration for the film will be crime/thriller/slasher films such as Psycho (1960) and The Silence of the Lambs (1991), both classic films that were made on low budgets but made substantial profits. To acknowledge the more recent developments in the genre, I will be incorporating some more psychological elements in the opening sequence including inspiration from films like Copycat and The Silence of the Lambs.

In order to achieve a professional piece of film I will need to develop my camerawork. As well as learning about camerawork in lessons, I have also subscribed to the YouTube channel Rocket Film School and I will be practising with some of their tutorials. I also have limited experience at the moment in the editing so will be practising lots with Final Cut Pro X and also Garage Band/Audacity so that I can achieve an original piece of music. I will be using the school’s cameras, as well as my own to produce the work and the school Macs to edit.

To accompany my film and the production process I will be carrying out a variety of research including watching and annotating screen shots of existing films (The Silence of the Lambs, Psycho and Copycat) and also conducting a focus group interview in which I learn about the interests and likes of my target audience. All of this work will be presented on a bespoke wordpress blog.

I decided not to do the magazine brief because i would like to pursue film at university because I am more interested in film. I know I will get the opportunity to develop my print skills later on in the course. I will develop my skills on Adobe InDesign through classroom activities ready for Year 13.

Leave a Reply

